FYI: Athabasca University Governing Council (Board of Governors)

November 17, 2017


The Governors of Athabasca University is the final authority at the university. Its members are appointed by the Government of Alberta, under provisions of the Post-Secondary Learning Act (PSLA).


Under the new provincial government, the PSLA is currently undergoing revisions regarding the right to strike. Additional, more comprehensive revisions will take place over the next two years. For the text of the PSLA, go to


As outlined in the PSLA Athabasca University Regulation [PSLA-AUR Section 3(1) and Section 3(2)], The Governors of Athabasca University consists of the Chair (appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council), the President of the University, and not more than 8 members representative of the general public, in addition to the Chair, appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. In addition, the Lieutenant Governor in Council may appoint up to two members representative of the general public if requested to do so by a resolution of the Board. In addition, the Board consists of the following members appointed by the Minister:


  • Two members of the academic staff of Athabasca University, one nominated by the General Faculties Council and one nominated by the academic staff association;

  • One member of the non-academic staff of Athabasca University nominated by the non-academic staff;

  • One tutor nominated by the organization representing tutors;

  • Two students nominated by the Board of the students association;

  • One graduate student nominated by the graduate students.


In addition, the Minister may appoint as a member of the Board one person who is an alumnus of Athabasca University and who is named in a resolution of the Board requesting the appointment.


Government-Appointed Public Members

(This may not be up-to-date. The AU Board of Governors site has for a number of months stated that the list is “currently being updated”.)


  • Chair, Vivian Manasc: Partner Manasc-Isaac, architects; member Board of the Edmonton Economic Development Corporation

  • McDonald Madamombe: chartered accountant, Alberta Pacific Forest Industries

  • Lynn Hamilton: lawyer, owner Hamilton Aviation, Air Spray, Beacon Hill Properties

  • Cheryl Hunter Loewen: lawyer, consultant in energy and technology

  • Debbie Kronewitt Martin: partner, Element Business Consulting (land development)

  • Chief Charles Weaselhead: Treaty Seven Grand Chief, former Chief Blood Tribe

  • Sharon Anderson: Northern Alberta Development Council, Region 10 Metis Settlements Child and Family Services and the Provincial Aboriginal Advisory Committee.

  • Brenden Hunter: member Saddle Lake Cree Nation, partner Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LPP (energy)

  • Tracy Maguire: Director, Human Resources, Canadian Oil Sands Construction Ltd.


(Note: Apparently there was a proposal to extend the appointments of former governors Rai Batra, Robert Balay, and Peter Thiveos, which expired in March, for a further six months)


  • Executive Officer: Neil Fassina, President, Athabasca University

  • Alumnus: Douglas Schindel, former president Weldco

  • Undergraduate Students: Shawna Wasylyshyn, President, AUSU; Julian Teterenko, VPEx

  • AUSU Graduate Student:  Jamie Czerwinski, President, AUGSA

  • Tutor: Liam Connelly (nominated October 28 by CUPE 3911, yet to be confirmed by Minister)

  • Academic Staff: Michael Mauws (nominated by GFC) Derek Briton (nominated by AUFA)

  • Nonacademic Staff: Paulette Patry (nominated by non-academic staff)


Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload